The Falkland Islands are situated in the South Atlantic, 400 miles from the coast of South America and 850 miles north of the Antarctic circle. They are located between latitude 51º and 53º S, roughly the same latitude south as London is north.

The Falkland Islands are made up of approximately 740 islands, the main two being East and West Falklands, with the total land mass covering around 4,700 sq miles, or about the same size as Wales. The British first claimed the islands in 1592 when sighted by Captain John Davis of the Desire.

Port Louis

Port Louis became the first British settlement in 1840, having been previously populated by the French and Spanish. Shortly after, in 1842, Governor Moody moved the Capital to Stanley.


Farming was the main stay of the economy for many years. However, the collapse of wool prices and the discovery of deep-sea fishing for Illex and Loligo squid has resulted in a shift in the economy and the population with a migration from “Camp” (anywhere outside of the Capital) to Stanley .

The Conflict in 1982 was a great turning point for the economy; up to this point the Falklands were supported by Britain, now we only depend on Britain for the Defence of the Islands whilst the Argentine threat of sovereignty is still in place.